000026414 - Devices Deleted From Manage Monitored Devices Keep Coming Back

Document created by RSA Customer Support Employee on Jun 14, 2016Last modified by RSA Customer Support Employee on Apr 21, 2017
Version 2Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Article Content

Article Number000026414
IssueDevices Deleted From Manage Monitored Devices Keep Coming Back
I have deleted several old devices from under Manage Monitored Devices. After a few minutes, these devices show up once again. How do I delete them for good?
Resolution

For any device that you collect, you normally perform some type of configuration outside of Manage Monitored Devices to tell Envision that it needs to collect the data. For example, if these are windows devices that you are trying to delete, you need to look under:

       Overview >> System Configuration >> Services >> Device Services >> Windows Service >> Manage Windows Service

 If you have those devices still configured here, this will tell Envision that you still want to pull the logs from those devices. Even after deleting them, the next time we pull the logs, we will re-discover and add them back to Manage Monitored Devices.

 This logic also applies to our other collection methods.

 For Syslog devices, for example, if you do not configure the Syslog device to stop sending its events to Envision, we will eventually rediscover the device and add it back under Manage Monitored Devices.

Legacy Article IDa50076

Attachments

    Outcomes