Close an Active User Session

Document created by RSA Information Design and Development on Jun 13, 2017Last modified by RSA Information Design and Development on Jun 13, 2017
Version 2Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

In the Security Console, you can close user sessions for users currently logged on to the Security Console and other protected resources.

On the Active User Sessions page, you can close the sessions for the following users:

  • Security Console administrators

  • Operations Console administrators who provided Super Admin credentials

  • Administrators using the RSA Token Management Snap-In for the Microsoft Management Console

  • Self-Service Console users (who logged on directly or through the web tier)

  • RSA RADIUS client users

  • Risk-based authentication (RBA) users who logged on through an ssl-vpn agent. These sessions are displayed as “Abandoned/in-progress.”

  • Administrators connecting through the application programming interfaces (API) described in the RSA Authentication Manager 8.2 Developer’s Guide.

The following user sessions are not displayed:

  • Users logged on through RSA Authentication Agents.

  • Administrators logged on to the Operations Console, unless Super Admin credentials are provided.

When you close an active user session, the following events occur:

  • The user is logged off.

  • When the user attempts to go to a page in the Security Console, the user is directed to the logon page.

  • If the system is in middle of processing a command from the user when the session is terminated, an error message is sent to the user.

If you close your own session, you are immediately logged off.

Procedure 

  1. In the Security Console, click Access > Active User Sessions.

  2. Use the search fields to find the sessions that you want to close. These fields are case sensitive.

  3. Select the users whose sessions you want to close.

  4. Click Close Sessions.

  5. Click OK.

Related Concepts

Session Lifetime Limits

 

 


Attachments

    Outcomes