Delete a Replica Instance

Document created by RSA Information Design and Development on Jun 13, 2017Last modified by RSA Information Design and Development on Jun 13, 2017
Version 2Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Delete a replica instance from the deployment in the following situations:

  • When the replica instance is no longer needed

  • When the replica instance has become unresponsive

  • When the replica instance can no longer be synchronized with the primary instance

When you delete a replica instance, the instance is disconnected from the primary instance, and configuration data for the replica is removed from the deployment. The primary instance no longer accepts connections from the replica instance or makes connections to the replica instance.

When you delete a replica that is a preferred server, the associated web tier is also deleted and risk-based authentication is stopped on the web tier. Before deleting a replica instance that is a preferred server, make sure you configure another instance in the Authentication Manager deployment as the preferred server. For instructions, see Add a Web-Tier Deployment Record.

Before you begin 

  • You must be a Super Admin.

  • You must make sure that the replica instance is shut down before performing this procedure.

Procedure 

  1. On the primary instance Operations Console, click Deployment Configuration > Instances > Status Report.

  2. Click the name of the replica instance you want to delete, and select Delete from the context menu.

  3. If prompted, enter your Security Console User ID and password, and click OK.

  4. Select Yes, delete the replica, and click Delete.

    The Progress Monitor displays the delete process.

  5. When the task is complete, click Done.

After you finish 

  • Back up the primary instance. For instructions, see Create a Backup Using Back Up Now.

  • On a virtual appliance, delete the deleted replica instance virtual machine. For instructions, see your VMware or Hyper-V documentation.

  • On a hardware appliance, do one of the following tasks:

    • Press the power button to shut down the appliance. Remove the appliance from the network.

    • If you took a PING backup when you deployed the appliance, you can use PING to restore the appliance to a pre-configured state. For more information, see “Using PING to Back Up and Restore the RSA Authentication Manager 8.2.x Hardware Appliance” on RSA Link: https://community.rsa.com/docs/DOC-41697.

    • If a backup image is not available, you can apply the original hardware appliance system image. For more information, see Hardware Appliance System Image Installation.

Related Concepts

Replica Instance

 

 


Attachments

    Outcomes