Sec/User Mgmt: Step 2. (Optional) Add a Role and Assign Permissions

Document created by RSA Information Design and Development on Jun 25, 2017Last modified by RSA Information Design and Development on Aug 28, 2017
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
  

Although Security Analytics has pre-configured roles, you can add custom roles. For example, in addition to the pre-configured Analysts role you could add custom roles for AnalystsEurope and AnalystsAsia. For a detailed list of permissions, see Role Permissions

Each of the following procedures starts on the Roles tab.

To navigate to the Roles tab:

  1. In the Security Analytics menu, select Administration > Security.
    The Security view is displayed with the Users tab open.
  2. Click the Roles tab.

Add a Role and Assign Permissions

  1. In the Roles tab, click  in the toolbar.
  2. The Add Role dialog is displayed.
  3. In the Role Info section, type the following information for the role:
  • Name
  • (Optional) Description
  1. In the Permissions section:
  • Click  and  to scroll through the modules.
  • Select a module the role will access.
  • Select each permission the role will have.
  1. Repeat the previous step until you select all permissions to assign to the role.
  2. Click Save to add the new role, which is effective immediately. You can now assign the new role to users.

Duplicate a Role

An efficient way to add a new role is to duplicate a similar role, save it with a new name and revise the permissions that are already assigned.

  1. In the Roles tab, select the role you want to duplicate and click .
  2. Type a new role name and click Save
  3. To change the permissions, follow the steps in the next procedure.

Change Permissions Assigned to a Role

  1. In the Roles tab, select the role and click .
    The Edit Role dialog is displayed.
  2. In the Permissions section:
  • Click  and  to scroll through the modules.
  • Select a module to revise permissions for it.
  • Select or deselect each permission.
  1. Repeat the previous step until the role has the required permissions.
  2. Click Save. The revised permissions are effective immediately.

Delete a Role

You can delete a role if it is not assigned to any users.

  1. In the Roles tab, select the role and click .
  2. A dialog requests confirmation that you want to delete the role. Click Yes.
You are here
Table of Contents > Manage Users with Roles and Permissions > Step 2. (Optional) Add a Role and Assign Permissions

Attachments

    Outcomes