Sec/User Mgmt: Enable, Unlock, and Delete User Accounts

Document created by RSA Information Design and Development on Sep 19, 2017Last modified by RSA Information Design and Development on Oct 2, 2017
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
  

This topic provides instructions for enabling, unlocking, and deleting user accounts.

All users of NetWitness Suite must either have a local user account with username and password or have an external user account. Within NetWitness Suite, you can enable, disable, and delete local user accounts.

The first time an external user logs into NetWitness Suite, a new user entry is automatically created with NetWitness Suite. NetWitness Suite manages only user identification information; for example, Full Name and Email.

You can unlock locked accounts for both local and external users.

Enable Disabled NetWitness Suite User Accounts

To enable NetWitness Suite user accounts that have been disabled:

  1. In NetWitness Suite, go to ADMIN > Security.
    The Security view is displayed with the Users tab open.
    This is an example of the Users tab.
  2. In the Users grid, select one or more accounts.
  3. Click The Enable button
    A dialog requests confirmation.
  4. If you want to enable the accounts, click Yes.
    The accounts are enabled, and the user can log in to NetWitness Suite.

Disable NetWitness Suite User Accounts

You can block user access by disabling users. Disabling the user does not delete user preferences. This action blocks user access without deleting user preferences so that upon re-enabling users, user preferences are intact. You can re-enable users to restore user access. Disabling users applies only to Local users and not External Users.

To disable NetWitness Suite user accounts:

  1. In the Users grid, select one or more accounts.
  2. Click The disable button.
    A dialog requests confirmation.
  3. If you want to disable the accounts, click Yes.
    The accounts are disabled, and the user can no longer log in to NetWitness Suite.

Unlock Locked NetWitness Suite User Accounts

A user is locked out for a period of time after a number of failed consecutive login attempts. To unlock NetWitness Suite user accounts that are locked due to excessive failed login attempts:

  1. In the Users grid, select one or more accounts.
  2. Click The unlock button.
    A dialog requests confirmation.
  3. If you want to unlock the accounts, click Yes.
    The accounts are unlocked, and the user can log on to NetWitness Suite.

Delete NetWitness Suite User Accounts

If not using External Authentication, a user can log on to NetWitness Suite using a local account. These local accounts are directly managed using NetWitness Suite. To revoke access to a local user, either disable the account or delete the account completely from the system.

Note: This deletes all user preferences for the account from NetWitness Suite. If this is not the intention, disable the user instead of deleting the user.

To delete NetWitness Suite user accounts:

  1. Go to ADMIN > Security.
    The Security view is displayed with the Users tab open.
  2. In the Users list, select one or more accounts.
  3. Click The delete icon.
    A warning dialog requests confirmation.
  4. If you want to delete the accounts, click Yes.
    The accounts are removed from NetWitness Suite, and the users can no longer log in to NetWitness Suite.
You are here
Table of Contents > Manage Users with Roles and Permissions > Step 4. Set Up a User > Enable, Unlock, and Delete User Accounts

Attachments

    Outcomes