Manually (Bulk) Synchronize an Identity Source for the Cloud Authentication Service

Manual bulk synchronization is available when you need to update an entire identity source. For example, suppose you have users who have been disabled in the directory server or moved out of scope from the identity source, and their presence in the Cloud Authentication Service exceeds the license limit. You can use manual bulk synchronization to disable those users in the Cloud Authentication Service before they attempt to authenticate. Those users will eventually be deleted from the Cloud Authentication Service if they are marked for automatic bulk deletion as described in Mark a User for Automatic Bulk Deletion from the Cloud Authentication Service

In contrast, just-in-time synchronization ensures that the identity source in the Cloud Authentication Service is synchronized each time the Cloud Authentication Service processes a user authentication. One user record is updated per authentication attempt. For more information, see Just-in-Time Synchronization

Note: The Cloud Authentication Service synchronizes only a limited number of users during manual synchronization. Any users who exceed this limit are not synchronized.

Before you begin

You must be a Super Admin for the Cloud Administration Console to perform this task. Confirm the following:
  • At least one identity router is configured.
  • The identity source settings for the Root and Object Class are configured to select users from the correct subtree(s) and published using the Cloud Administration Console.

Procedure

  1. In the Cloud Administration Console, click Users > Identity Sources.
  2. Next to the name of the identity source you want to synchronize, select Synchronize from the drop-down menu.
  3. In the Identity Source Details section, click Synchronize Now. To stop a synchronization that is in progress, click Stop Sync. You cannot roll back user records that have already been synchronized.
    The Synchronization Status section displays the status of the synchronization job, including the number of users added, users updated, and users not synchronized. If some users could not be synchronized, click the Show Details button to display a list of these users. Up to 400 users can be displayed in each category. The list is refreshed when you resynchronize.