Old Radius Shared Secret is still in use even after changing it in agent record from Security Console
Last Modified: 2026-06-10
Article Number
Applies To
RSA Product/Service Type: Authentication Manager
RSA Version/Condition: 8.6 and up
Issue
Explanation:
When changing radius shared secret, it will be updated in RSA Authentication Manager however
The old shared secret would still be used for an amount of time that can be configured using option “lifetime” in radius configuration file “dynamic-clients”.
This option is responsible on refreshing radius agents every certain time. (Default 600 seconds)
Resolution
Change “lifetime” to smaller value for IPv4. (This could be done for ipv6 if needed) > Save & Restart RADIUS Server.
For more information about “dynamic-clients” configuration file, please check the corresponding RSA Authentication Manager RADIUS Reference Guide.
Workaround:
Restarting radius service from CLI would refresh radius agent with new shared secret.
https://community.rsa.com/t5/securid-knowledge-base/how-to-stop-start-and-restart-rsa-authentication-manager-8-x/ta-p/5136
Related Articles
SecurID Access Application Portal still using old certificate after it was replaced 56Number of Views When 'Generate Indirect Entitlements' is disabled for Roles, Technical and Global Role Entitlements are still granted to R… 59Number of Views RSA Identity Governance & Lifecycle- A deleted role is still visible in the application UI and stuck in the Applied Delete… 84Number of Views Entitlement from a deleted account is still seen in the User Access tab in RSA Identity Governance & Lifecycle 114Number of Views Replaced default Web Tier certificate but old certificate is presented in RSA Authentication Manager 8.x 425Number of Views
Trending Articles
Don't see what you're looking for?