Modifying Group Membership in an LDAP DirectoryModifying Group Membership in an LDAP Directory
In order to optimize performance and minimize traffic between Authentication Manager and an LDAP directory, Authentication Manager caches information about user group memberships. When a user’s group membership is changed in an LDAP directory, Authentication Manager cannot acknowledge the change until the cache is refreshed. As a result, these changes take effect after the cache refresh interval has elapsed. In the time between the change and the refresh, you may see the following behaviors:
- A user added to a group that has access to a restricted agent cannot authenticate to the restricted agent.
- A user who has been removed from a group that has access to a restricted agent can still authenticate to the agent.
You can flush the cache immediately using the Operations Console. For more information, see Flush the Cache.
For more information on configuring the cache, see Configure the Cache.